2023 Pulitzer Prize Winners

2023 Pulitzer Prize Winners

  • The Pulitzer Prize is the top US journalism award presented annually for excellence in newspaper, magazine and online journalism, literary achievements, and musical composition..
  • The first award was presented in 1917. This award is named after newspaper publisher Joseph Pulitzer, who died in 1911.
  • Pulitzer prizes in 2023 have been awarded in 23 categories. 
  • Given below is the complete list of winners of Pulitzer Prizes for the year 2023:
Category  Winners


Public Service

Associated Press, for the work of Mstyslav Chernov, Evgeniy Maloletka, Vasilisa Stepanenko and Lori Hinnant

Breaking News Reporting

Staff of the Los Angeles Times

Investigative Reporting

Staff of The Wall Street Journal

Explanatory Reporting

Caitlin Dickerson of The Atlantic

Local Reporting

Anna Wolfe of Mississippi Today, Ridgeland, Miss.


John Archibald, Ashley Remkus, Ramsey Archibald and Challen Stephens of AL.com, Birmingham

National Reporting

Caroline Kitchener of The Washington Post

International Reporting

Staff of The New York Times

Feature Writing

Eli Saslow of The Washington Post


Kyle Whitmire of AL.com, Birmingham


Andrea Long Chu of New York magazine

Editorial Writing

Miami Herald Editorial Board, for a series written by Amy Driscoll

Illustrated Reporting and Commentary

Mona Chalabi, contributor, The New York Times

Breaking News Photography

Photography Staff of Associated Press

Feature Photography

Christina House of the Los Angeles Times

Audio Reporting

Staff of Gimlet Media, notably Connie Walker

Books, Drama, and Music


Demon Copperhead, by Barbara Kingsolver (Harper)


Trust, by Hernan Diaz (Riverhead Books)


English, by Sanaz Toossi


Freedom’s Dominion: A Saga of White Resistance to Federal Power, by Jefferson Cowie (Basic Books)


G-Man: J. Edgar Hoover and the Making of the American Century, by Beverly Gage (Viking)

Memoir or Autobiography

Stay True, by Hua Hsu (Doubleday)



Then the War: And Selected Poems, 2007-2020, by Carl Phillips (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

General Nonfiction

His Name Is George Floyd: One Man’s Life and the Struggle for Racial Justice, by Robert Samuels and Toluse Olorunnipa (Viking)


Omar, by Rhiannon Giddens and Michael Abels

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *