Droupadi Murmu elected as 15th President of India

Droupadi Murmu elected as 15th President of India

  • The former Governor of Jharkhand, Droupadi Murmu, has been elected as the 15th President of India after she secured majority votes in the 2022 Presidential election.
  • She defeated opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha with 676,803 electoral votes (64.03% of total) in 21 of the 28 states (including in the union territory of Puducherry).
  • Murmu will be replacing incumbent President Ram Nath Kovind, whose tenure ends on July 24, 2022.
  • She will be administered oath by the CJI, Mr. NV Ramana and assume the office on July 25, 2022.

Key facts

  • Droupadi Murmu is a tribal leader from Rairangpur in the Mayurbhanj district in Odisha.
  • She is the first-ever politician from Scheduled Tribe (ST) community as well as from Odisha to be elected as the President of India.
  • Murmu is also the only second woman after Pratibha Patil to occupy presidential post.
  • Prior to this she served as the 9th Governor of Jharkhand between 2015 and 2021. She was also the first woman Governor of Jharkhand.
  • She had held various portfolios in the cabinet of Government of Odisha between 2000 to 2004.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *